Scales

I’m not sure what era this was from, but the telephone number only has three digits so it must have been in the early days of phones. I imagine the delivery ‘boy’ cycling around the small market town in North Yorkshire with a basket full of fruit and vegetables, perhaps measured on the scales in W Scales fruiterer shop.

I remember having a similar fixed-wheel bike in the mid eighties when I lived in Zanzibar. I cycled for many miles on that bike both around town and out in the shamba (countryside), where the roads were so bad it was often quicker to go to places on your bike rather than motorised transport.

p1010977

In Beck Isle Museum in Pickering, North Yorkshire.

 

http://www.beckislemuseum.org.uk/

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/names/

6 thoughts on “Scales

  1. Oh, I ove those old phone numbers. When I was a child, we lived in a very ordinary part of London. But our ‘phone number was so evocative and I remember it still. Tate Gallery 2921. I wonder if I should give it a call?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Names: Dura Vermeer | What's (in) the picture?

comments welcome :)

