Freshi

In Zanzibar one of the greetings is ‘Mambo?’ which could be responded to in various ways. My favourite was  ‘Freshi’. I have always thought this was a great answer to a greeting. It is so much more colourful than the standard responses of ‘good’ or ‘fine’.

It evokes in me a memory of those  years I spent on that island; idyllic in so many ways, yet struggling with its identity, and struggling on its road to development while trying not to get lost in the influx of tourism and all the positives and negatives this industry has created.Zanzibar Market

Fresh Produce in the Market, Zanzibar

 

The market was always a somewhat chaotic place; a cacophony of colour, movement and noise, with the constant bustle of people searching for and buying their wares, chatting, gossiping, calling out their sales pitch and of course the constant greetings.

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/fresh-2/

4 thoughts on “Freshi

  1. Lovely photo for the challenge, Jules. I always meant to go to Zanzibar when I was living in South Africa, but never got there. I like the “Freshi” answer to the “Mambo” greeting. I must remember this just in case i do visit one day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Fresh | My Atheist Blog

comments welcome :)

